Regional Information – Durham Region

June 22, 2017

, ,

DurhamThe Regional Municipality Of Durham

Was created January 1st 1974 by the Province of Ontario under the Regional Municipality of Durham Act, 1973, is part of the restructuring of local governments by the Province. The Creation of Durham Region was accomplished by the annexation and amalgamation of twenty-one former local municipalities in the Counties of Ontario into 8 cities, towns and municipalities.

The Regional Municipality of Durham now consists of eight Area Municipalities: The Cities of Oshawa and Pickering, the Towns of Ajax, and Whitby; the Municipality of Clarington and the Townships of Brock, Scugog and Uxbridge.

Tourism, Transit, Health and Policing

The  Durham Tourism web site offers information about local events, places to stay, and an events calendar.

The Durham Region Transit site offers information on transit services throughout the Region.

The Durham Region Health Department  monitors health trends and disease statistics in our community and provides a diversity of health enhancing programs and emergency medical services that address the community needs. Staff are available to answer your questions about  disease prevention, health protection or general health concerns.

The Durham Regional Police web site provides information on unsolved crimes, missing persons, safety tips and support services. There is a crime mapping tool that shows the general location and types of crime committed over the last six months.